iPhone apps are changing our everyday life

27Aug12

Image

 

Nowadays in class we usually do something with our iPhone or other smart phone: checking school email, looking at the electronic version of require reading material, or googling a term mentioned by our professor. It goes without saying that cell phone is changing our everyday life, in addition to learning in class. The reason why it makes such great contribution is because cell phone is a wireless device “signifying the complex convergence between the telephone, the computer, and telecommunications in a single artefact”.[1] 

Luckily we are not the only ones noticing the importance of smart phones. Social Network Websites and other commercial organizations such as Facebook are developing their own apps and trying to keep up with time. According to Bloomberg’s report, Facebook doubles speed of iPhone and iPad app with update. What Facebook is trying to do is to satisfy the need of users in a much more convenient way and make sure they don’t fall behind the current trends.

The apps of SNS exert more impact on users’ everyday life. Take me as an example: when I went to sightseeing with my friends I used to shout out loud “hey the view looks incredible” but now I just take a photo and upload it via my Facebook app so all my friends on Facebook could see the beautiful view even though they are not there. Facebook app on my iPhone also serves as a platform for Q&A: I always get questions from my Chinese friends asking about life in the United States or questions from my American friends asking about life back in China.

What’s cooler is that this platform can even perform as Lost & Found: one of my friends lost her cell phone in campus, and I posted the news via my iPhone Facebook app asking for help. Three hours ago, someone posted on my wall that a phone was found and turned into the Lost & Found Office in our school and we should go and take a look. This is the impressive story how my friend got her phone back.

In light of this, I will never doubt the fact that more apps, more convenience in our life. Please let the organizations double or triple their app developing pace cause we are always glad to install and use them.

 
-by Feiran
 

[1] M. Deuze, Media Work, (Polity Press, Malden, MA, 2007, Reprinted 2008), pp. 13.

One Response to “iPhone apps are changing our everyday life”

  1. hello!,I love your writing very so much! percentage wee keep in
    touch more approximately your article on AOL?

    I require an expert in this area to unravel my problem.

    May be tht is you! Looking forward to peer you.


Leave a Reply

